Big Wedding, Small Budget

Welcome!

on January 12, 2012

Welcome to my new blogging effort, Big Wedding, Small Budget. As the title suggests, that’s what I’m trying to do. Throw a wedding for approximately 250 people on a budget that is less than half the average.

Some Q & A to explain what we’re doing here:

Q: Are you crazy?

A: I might just be. I guess we’ll find out as time goes on.

Q: Why a big wedding, then?

A: That’s a good one, especially when most wedding “wisdom” (I use that term loosely) tells you to cut the guest list when you’re trying to cut the budget. But the huge guest list is actually my top priority. I have a huge family, and my fiancé and I have a large circle of friends, and they are spread out literally around the world. The opportunity to share this with them and get everyone in the same place is too good to pass up. So, we’re taking it.

Q: Why a small budget?

A: There are many different reasons, but they all boil down to this: A wedding is one day. A big day, an important day, but still just a day. We don’t think we should spend more on a party than we did on our cars.

Q: How the hell are you going to make it happen?

A: Well, I’m not quite sure yet. We just got engaged and all we’ve planned so far is the date. Our basic strategy is to cut out a lot of the traditional “wedding stuff” that we don’t care about and don’t want to pay for. Look out for further posts on my wedding “vision” and philosophy.

Q: What can I expect from this blog?

A: Just like the wedding, it’s a work in progress. I’m planning to use this space to process my thoughts and feelings around wedding planning and resisting the WIC, while also playing with logistics and ideas. That way, my friends won’t start to send me to voicemail when I call!

Reply

