Big Wedding, Small Budget

Marriage Equality

on March 5, 2012

I’ve been trying to write about marriage equality lately, without much success. I think it’s important to write about, especially as I get ready to participate in an institution that is not available to everyone. I think it’s important to examine what I think about marriage in society when there are so many people fighting for the right to marry.

So, then, why am I getting tripped up in trying to write about it?

The truth it, I find it totally disheartening that I even have to address it. I feel ashamed that it is 2012 and I live in a state with an amendment stating that marriage is only between a man and a woman. It makes me so angry that we still have legislated inequality in this country.

Rick Santorum is a serious candidate for President of the United States of America and that makes me want to scream.

There are hopeful signs. Washington and Maryland are legalizing marriage equality. A bill passed the New Jersey legislature, even though it was vetoed by the governor. Proposition 8 was just declared unconstitutional by a federal appeals court. And by the way, do you know who the two lawyers fighting Prop 8 are? David Boies, who represented Gore in Bush v. Gore 2000, and Ted Olson, who represented Bush. They are working together for civil rights. Olson said in an interview recently that their true mission is not just to defeat Prop 8, but to convince the American people that marriage equality is the right way to go.

So, things are changing. But they’re not changing quickly enough.

I’ve never considered being one of those people who chooses to wait to get married until everyone can. Personally, that doesn’t feel like the right way for me to fight. But, I will continue to speak out in favor of civil rights for everyone. I will use my vote, my mind, and my voice to stand up for equality.

Theodore Roosevelt said, “This country will not be a good place for any of us to live in unless we make it a good place for all of us to live in.” When all couples, gay or straight, can be married, my marriage will be made stronger. When all families can be recognized officially by society, my family will be that much better off.

from: The International Business Times via Reuters. According to the article, this couple had been together for 51 years before they were finally able to get married.

One response to “Marriage Equality

  1. maxxine Smith says:

    I loved what you wrote about marriage equality. I feel proud to live in a state that recognizes All colors of the rainbow! (yay Seattle, WA!) It seems so obvious to me that, we all are stronger when we all have the same rights. May we vote for a President who is evolved and, not mired in polarizing ideology. We have moved on from the times of Puritanical society. Yes, there is a separation of Church and State. You go, girl!

    Love,
    Aunt Maxxine

Reply

