Big Wedding, Small Budget

Fruit Centerpieces

on April 19, 2012

I’m continuing my exploration of flower alternatives by looking at centerpieces made of fruit. I’m not sure these would really be any cheaper than flowers, but they seem more economical, since I guess you could eat the fruit (right?). I also love their simplicity, and I love how they still feel natural and organic, especially for outdoor wedding. Fruit is pretty, and smells nice, and tastes good. It makes me happy. So, let’s see what’s out there!

sources: top left, top center, top right, bottom right, bottom center, bottom left

7 responses to “Fruit Centerpieces

  1. I also think that fruit is great for table numbers – ala http://pinterest.com/pin/40743571599083019/

  2. Also, if you did whole fruit (like the apples, oranges, and lemons in your pictures), you could use it in the wedding and then donate the fruit to a homeless shelter or food pantry. (I used to work at a food pantry, and it was frustrating for people who did special events that they couldn’t donate hot, prepared food, but we always had room for produce!)

  3. Jillian says:

    You could also do a more Edible Arrangement type centerpiece, beautiful and delicious!

  4. Gail says:

    I think fruit’s a great idea…we did floating candles because i’m not big on the whole flower thing.

  5. Shoshanah says:

    Back when I had my bat mitzvah, I had bowls of fruit as centerpieces. There were notes on the table telling people to eat what they wanted and whatever wasn’t eaten would be donated the next day.

    As for our wedding, while I don’t think I’d do an actual bowl of fruit, I do love the look of lemons and such in the tall cylinder glasses.

    And just letting you know, I’m Miss Ariel from weddingbee.

Reply

