Big Wedding, Small Budget

Wedding Planning Can Be Fun

on July 16, 2012

So far, I’ve really enjoyed planning. Sure, there were some tense moments. Like when I was sure we would never find a venue we could afford that was outdoors and could work for 250 people. Or maybe right in the beginning, when I was totally overwhelmed with budget questions, venue questions, caterer questions, and guest list questions and just not sure where to start. But other than that, it’s been a pretty smooth ride. Which led me to ask…am I doing something wrong?

Everyone talks about wedding planning as being really stressful. And don’t get me wrong. I’m not naïve; I understand that eventually, I will be staring down the barrel of a monstrously long to-do list, with tedious tasks and a million decisions to be made. I know things will get really busy when it gets closer; the lull I’m experiencing now is not to be expected to last for the next 8 months.

The thing is, though, I like making decisions. I like having incredibly detailed to do lists and checking things off. I kind of like tedious tasks (I know, I know). For example, I’m looking forward to spending a couple of hours on the internet researching alcohol distributors, making a decision, and making the purchase. One more thing off the list!

This is precisely why I’m the captain of this wedding planning ship. Project management seems to be right up my alley. Also, I have a secret weapon. Anything I don’t care about that isn’t totally necessary will not be happening at the wedding. I refuse to spend one minute thinking about what the chairs will look like or debating the colors of the tablecloths. I don’t care about, nor do I want to spend money on, favors, so guess what? We will not be having favors (this could be a post in and of itself).

So, no, I don’t think I’m doing it wrong. In fact, I think I might be doing this wedding planning thing exactly right. I’m spending time and money on things I care about, things that make me excited. And I’m determined to keep wedding planning as fun and as easy as it can be. That way, even when I’m in the midst of planning hell, I can look back on the process as a whole and still feel the joy.

Reply

