Big Wedding, Small Budget

Planning Update – September

on September 24, 2012

OMG, the wedding is only six months away! I can’t believe it! It seems like just yesterday that we got engaged, and certainly just yesterday that I was writing a Negative One post. The break is planning is over, and there is A LOT to do. I’m definitely getting excited again. Here are the main things on my to-do list for this month (or so):

  • Decide on invitation wording and order the digital file: this shouldn’t be too hard, because I have a general idea of what it will say. I just need to make sure it will work with our chosen design.
  • Choose a start time for the wedding: I have been going back and forth on this one between 12:00 and 1:00. I would like to start earlier to give people who need to get home that night a little more time at the wedding. Also, I would really like time to have dinner and then go the afterparty (TBD) without feeling rushed or having the afterparty start too late. But, I am not, I repeat, not a morning person. And with the venue being an hour away from where I will be staying, starting at 12 means waking up pretty darn early. Now, I know you’re probably saying that I’ll wake up early anyway, out of excitement. That’s probably true, but I will be much happier with some time to relax in the morning instead of having to be “on” right away. And I don’t really expect my bridesmaids and our families to wake up early out of excitement (except my Mom), so there’s no reason to make everyone set a super early alarm. So, right now, I’m leaning toward 1, but the final decision has to be made before I can order invitations.
  • Research and order printed invitations: Even though we are getting printable invitations, I have no desire to actually print them myself. Plus, given the number of invites we will be sending out, I’m not sure that it would even be cost-efficient. I need to finish researching online printers and choose which one I’m going with. I know it’s a bit early to order invitations, but I’m afraid that the Thanksgiving-Christmas-New Year’s period will be a black hole, both in terms of working with vendors and ordering stuff as well as sending out invites. I don’t want to them to get lost in the mail! Also, our venue requires a final head count much earlier than normal, so the RSVP date will be early and thus, invitations needs to get sent out a little sooner. We have the details pretty much set, so there’s no real reason to wait to order them. (I am decidedly NOT a procrastinor, in case you couldn’t tell.)
  • Decide on wedding insurance: I’m just not sure about this one. The über-planner in me feels like we should have wedding insurance, just in case. The tightwad side of me feels like it is just a racket to spend more money. Our wedding is in March, in Florida, so barring any freak events, neither hurricanes nor blizzards should be an issue. We don’t have that many vendors, so there just aren’t that many deposits to lose. I’m leaning towards no at this point, but a final decision needs to be made so I can either purchase insurance or move on.
  • Start working on the ceremony, beginning with choosing an officiant: I could probably write a whole series of posts on this topic, although right now I’m not sure I want to broadcast such a personal struggle to the internet. Interfaith is hard, y’all. Especially our particular brand of interfaith, where our actual faith (or lack thereof) is the same, but our cultures are very, very different. All I’m sure of right now is that we won’t be using an official officiant, because my rabbis are not allowed to marry us or even attend, and I’m not thrilled about paying money for someone who doesn’t know us. So, I will be writing the ceremony myself, trying to capture our belief system and Steve’s culture in the framework of a fairly traditional (but egalitarian) Jewish ceremony. That will probably be a long process, but for right now, we need to decide whom we would like to ask to officiate the ceremony. Hopefully, they will say yes! The ceremony in general is something I have been procrastinating on, mostly because it is the most difficult part of planning this wedding. So I just need to get started.

Ok, now I’m freaking out a little bit. That really sounds like a lot! I guess the planning is beginning in earnest and it will definitely feel great to check these big things off the list. The final countdown has begun!

5 responses to “Planning Update – September

  1. I highly recommend vistaprint for printing invites. A quick search on retailmenot.com will get you a 50% off coupon off their already pretty cheap prices. The only drawback is that shipping is slow (2-3 weeks), so order in advance. We were very happy with everything we ordered through them (invites, STDs, donations-in-lieu-of-favor cards, etc).

  2. Also, I don’t know what the laws in FL are, but in MA we were able to have a friend officiate and legally marry us! It was a great solution to the officiant/interfaith issue.

  3. obpearson says:

    Yay! Though it’s stressful it’s also fun to do all this planning! We had one of our close friends marry us and it was absolutely perfect. It made us less nervous since we trusted her so much. Luck!

Reply

