Big Wedding, Small Budget

Pictures and Parties

on January 3, 2013

As I mentioned earlier, this has been an exciting week in wedding world. Here’s what we’ve been up to:

First, last Friday, we took our engagement pictures. This was something that had been causing me no small measure of anxiety, mostly because Steve doesn’t really like getting his picture taken. In fact, that was basically the whole reason we had engagement pictures taken in the first place; they were included in our photography package, and I thought it would be a good chance for us to get to know our photographer a little more so that the process would go much more smoothly on our wedding day. Well, I was totally right, and I would recommend to anyone that they do engagement pictures for just that reason. We did them with Emily in downtown Orlando. The session was really fun, and our photographer was wonderful. She came armed with ideas to make everything more fun and natural, spent a lot of time just talking to us, and ended up having dinner with us afterwards. The experience was great, and I cannot wait to see what the photos look like!

Then, the very next day was my bridal shower. To tell the truth, I hadn’t thought that much about it beforehand, mostly because I was doing so much to get ready for the engagement pictures. But the minute those were over, I started getting really excited for the shower. I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to sleep the night before! Anyway, the shower was everything I could have hoped for and more. Everything looked so nice and the food was amazing. The gift giving was even fine, something remarkable since I really hate opening presents in front of people. Mostly, I was just so touched that a group of people got together to put it on for me. They put so much work into it and I could really feel the love. To look around that room and realize that all of these people had come there just for me, and some from pretty far away, was incredible. The time went by really quickly as I tried to talk to and spend some time with everyone. I can only imagine that the wedding will feel like that times 100!

We’ve been taking care of some other wedding stuff this week, but mostly we’ve been hanging out with Emily and having lots of fun. It’s been a great winter break generally, and I’ve felt really productive wedding-wise as I’ve been checking more and more things off of my list. Next week, I’m back to work, hopefully, I’ll continue to get just as much stuff done!

Reply

